OREO COOKIE

I wrote this back in 2013 and posted it on my Facebook page.  I thought I would share it on here also. 

OREO Cookie!!! Now that I have your attention…there are three chapters in the Bible that are like an OREO Cookie. They are I Corinthians 12, 13, & 14. Chapters 12 and 14 are about gifts that God gives us to use in order to bless others. The gifts are important and available to us when and as GOD decides. He gives the gifts as HE wills. However, even if we had ALL the gifts and used them all the time, they would mean NOTHING without what chapter 13 talks about…LOVE! Love is the cream that holds the two cookies together! Have you ever seen people pull off one of the cookies to get to the cream? The cream is the MOST important part because it would not be an OREO without the cream. It would just be a plain chocolate cookie! No matter how much you “do” for the Lord and for others, if what you do is not done “in love” it means NOTHING! When you ask your child to do something, they can disobey and not do it at all, obey but do it begrudgingly, or they can do it out of love with an obedient heart. Which would you, as their parent, prefer? 

Are we doing everything from a joyful heart of love? If not, whatever we are doing is just meaningless actions that have no value! Let’s make sure that whatever we do is done in love!

Here is I Corinthians 13:
Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I have become sounding brass or a clanging cymbal. 2 And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. 3 And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned,[a] but have not love, it profits me nothing.
4 Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; 5 does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; 6 does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; 7 bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

8 Love never fails. But whether there are prophecies, they will fail; whether there are tongues, they will cease; whether there is knowledge, it will vanish away. 9 For we know in part and we prophesy in part. 10 But when that which is perfect has come, then that which is in part will be done away.

11 When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things. 12 For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I shall know just as I also am known.

13 And now abide faith, hope, love, these three; but the greatest of these is love.

Have a blessed day and remember to do everything in love!

Patricia Styers

Author: giventhanksministry

My desire is to serve the Lord and people and to show them the great love that the Lord has for them. I want to be able to encourage others to know, love and serve the Lord.

Leave a Reply

