Shifting

The first vehicle I ever owned was a 1969 VW Bug. It was a standard and I had never driven one before so I had to learn how to shift gears. At first it could be a challenge, especially when I was stopped on a hill and the car behind me was right on my bumper. When the foot came off of the brake, there was a tendency to roll backwards. Happily, I never rolled back and hit anyone and learned how to master the art of shifting.

Just as shifting can be challenging when you first learn to drive, shifting in life can also be hard.  Many do not like change and so when things start to shift in our lives, it can be challenging and uncomfortable. The longer things stay the same, the harder it can be to accept and embrace changes because we like things that are familiar and part of our regular routine. We can settle into our routine and we feel comfortable.

As a child and for a great deal of my adult life, we moved to different places and I had to learn to make new friends, go to new schools and churches and make adjustments.  I always thought that it must be so nice to live in one place your whole life and never have to make those kinds of adjustments.  I don’t HATE change but some changes are difficult and if I had MY choice, I would opt out!

Even though I don’t like some changes, I also recognize that change can be a very good thing too.  When a baby bird is in the nest, it is a very comfortable place to be and mama bird makes sure baby bird has everything needed to be nurtured and fed.  However, there comes a time when the mother knows that the baby bird must learn to spread its’ wings and fly. It is time to leave the comfort of the warm, cozy and familiar nest! There are times in our lives that we MUST go through changes in order to learn and grow.  Changes are not always fun and we may experience some hard times while in the process but changes can make us stronger and get us to places that we never dreamed we could go.

We must learn to embrace change and learn the lessons that the changes bring us! Don’t despise changes because without them, we could grow stagnant and complacent! Our attitude about the changes can greatly affect the whole process.  We can choose to become angry and bitter or we can look for the blessings and lessons that the changes bring!

God bless!

Patricia Styers

Author: giventhanksministry

My desire is to serve the Lord and people and to show them the great love that the Lord has for them. I want to be able to encourage others to know, love and serve the Lord.

1 thought on “Shifting”

Leave a Reply

